First House of Delegates **TACLS Annual Meeting** Austin, TX April 4, 2003

## Present:

President John Wentz President-elect Becky See Past-president Duncan Samo Secretary Joan Aldrich Treasurer Candy Schaper Board Members:

> Vicki Freeman Karen McClure

Christina Thompson

Dave Falleur

Student Forum Representative Gretchen Allen

The meeting was called to order at 3:55 pm

## Appointments:

Sergeant at Arms Peter Hu Teller Ellen Sanderson

The winning student bowl teams were recognized and given their trophies:

1<sup>st</sup> place: Methodist Hospital 2<sup>nd</sup> place M. D. Anderson Cancer Center

3<sup>rd</sup> place TAMU at Corpus Christi

Nominations report - Phil Kostroun (written report)

86 mail ballots were returned

winning candidates: President-elect Christina Thompson

Board of Directors Karen Chandler and David Falleur

Member of Year - A run-off between the two candidates with the highest number of votes is required. The remaining candidates are Thomsasine Newby and Duncan Samo.

Ballots were distributed to eligible voters. Results will be announced at the 2<sup>nd</sup> House of Delegates.

Election of delegates from TACLS to the ASCLS House of Delegates:

Automatic delegates include the student, 2002-2003 president John Wentz, 2002-2003 president-elect Becky See, 2003-2004 president-elect (Christina Thompson) and the TACLS student delegate (Gretchen Allen). Additional delegates are based on the TACLS membership as determined by ASCLS at their cut-off date. It is estimated that 7 more will be needed.

Nominations for TACLS delegates to the ASCLS House of Delegates:

Karen Chandler nominated from TACLS district 16 Duncan Samo nominated from TACLS district 6 Debbie Faubion nominated from TACLS district 8

Linda Smith nominated from TACLS district 5
Joan Aldrich nominated from TACLS district 4
Judy Baughman nominated from TACLS district 14
Karen Murray nominated from TACLS district 13
Volunteer alternates: Vicki Freeman, Dave Falleur, Lynn Little, Ellen Sanderson, and Carol Creech

Ballots were distributed to vote for 7 delegates.

Bylaws Committee - Joan Aldrich (written report)

The proposed amendment to the Bylaws was moved and seconded. The proposed amendment to the Standard Operating Procedures was moved and seconded.

A motion to adjourn was made, seconded and passed at 4:15 p.m.